A Closer Look at The Ashes

A Closer Look at The Ashes

A Closer Look at The Ashes

The Ashes is a test cricket series that is contested about very two years between Australia and England.  The Ashes is supposedly named after an article written in 1882, after Australia trounced England, the journalist was so unimpressed he advised that English cricket was dead and the ashes had should be taken back to Australia.

And so the war of The Ashes was begun, with England determined to retrieve their ashes (and honour).

A small urn was gifted to the English team, by a few Australian women after the English made a spirited come back in the next series, and to this day replica urns are often presented to the winners of the series.

Fast forward over a hundred years and the battle is still going strong, although there has been a few missed years of play, the competition is one that holds sway over international rankings.

So, when you want to take a break from your pokies online gaming or manic Christmas present shopping to enjoy the great and historic test series currently in play. As you and your friends are probably on vacation in this festive period and have some free time, a great game of world class cricket between these two titans will keep you fully occupied.

Ashes 2017/2018

This year’s series is being held in Australia, with 5 matches being played from the November 2017 to January 2018.

1st Test

The first test was played at The Gabba in Brisbane from the 23 to 27 November 2017. Australia won this first test by 10 wickets, the final score being 302 to 328.

A breakdown of the test:

With weather and light affecting play on day one, the majority of the day was lost; England had won the toss and elected to bat first.

2nd Test

The second test was played at The Adelaide oval in Adelaide from the 02 to 06 December 2017. Australia won this test by 102 runs.

A breakdown of the test:

England again won the toss and elected to bat first, but again lost the match. Weather again affected day one and two of the match, with 9 and then 18 over’s being lost on each day.

3rd Test

The third test is currently under way at the WACA Ground in Perth, from the 14th to the 18th of December 2017.

A breakdown of the test:

Once more England won the toss and elected to bat first, and although England has made a great start if they lose this test match they will have lost the entire series.

4th Test

The fourth test is due to be held at the Melbourne Cricket Ground in Melbourne, from the 26 to the 30 December 2017.

5th Test

The final test match will be held at the Sydney Cricket Ground in Sydney, from the 4th to the 8th of January 2018.

So as I write this article, I am nail biting and hoping that England manages to win the third test match, as there is nothing worse than a five match test series that has already been won by the third test match.